Thinking About Getting A Longer Lens. I need Help.

A place to talk photography gear, techniques, etc.
Adambadger88

Thinking About Getting A Longer Lens. I need Help.

Post by Adambadger88 » Sun Feb 04, 2024 10:32 pm

Does anyone have any advice on what I should get? Any advice that you give me is much appreciated. I don't think my Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS US lens for my Canon EOS 60D is as long as I would like for ground to air photos. I'm seeking and learning more about types of lenses, possibly expanding to a 150-600mm or something similar. Which I think is perfect and even in post editing. I am a complete novice/amateur. I attend air shows for fun and enjoyment.

My current setup:
Adam Santic's Gear Setup.jpg
Adam Santic's Gear Setup.jpg (45.09 KiB) Viewed 770 times
Last edited by Adambadger88 on Sun Feb 04, 2024 10:48 pm, edited 4 times in total.
0 x

RyanS

Post by RyanS » Mon Feb 05, 2024 6:37 pm

It mostly depends on your budget, there are 100-400s and 150-600s and some others that are in that range, all at different prices. In general you get what you pay for, but lenses last longer than bodies so they are more worth investing in. Lens reviews can tell you a lot so just find what you're willing to pay and see what can be had for that.

Stay away from teleconverters unless you are going to pair them with a very high quality lens also
1 x
Ryan Sundheimer
www.AirshowStuff.com

wfooshee

Post by wfooshee » Wed Feb 07, 2024 9:16 pm